Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Runner Up - Admins Awards
    Join Date
    Dec 2009


    Default Tendulkar is Wisden's leading cricketer for 2010

    Follow us on Social Media

    Wisden, regarded as the Bible of cricket, has named Indian batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar as the leading cricketer in the world for the year 2010.

    The iconic batsman is the seventh recipient of the Wisden award after teammate Virender Sehwag Australians Ricky Ponting and Shane Warne , England's Andrew Flintoff , Sri Lanka's Muttiah Muralitharan and South African Jacques Kallis

    The 148th edition of Wisden Cricketers' Almanack was launched on Wednesday and it is the first time that Tendulkar won the award since it was instituted in 2004.

    In 2007, Wisden identified Tendulkar as the player to have won such an award for 1998 -- had it been instituted then.

    Tendulkar, who realised his long-cherished dream when India won the World Cup earlier this month in Mumbai , has also been named in Wisden's 2009 Test XI, at his accustomed number four position.

    Sehwag, who took the honour the last two years, also found a place in Wisden's 2009 Test XI, forming an attacking opening partnership with Bangladesh's Tamim Iqbal.

    The 37-year-old Tendulkar scored more than 1500 Test runs, including seven centuries in the year 2010 averaging 78.
    ...being a human...



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts