Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Runner Up - Admins Awards
    Join Date
    Dec 2009


    Default Six umpires for ICC World Cup 2011 outside the elite panel

    Follow us on Social Media

    ICC World Cup 2011 will have six umpires outside the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires for officiating in the Word Cup matches.
    These umpires are Shavir Tarapore and Amiesh Saheba from India, Bruce Oxenford from Australia, Kumar Dharmasena from Sri Lanka and Nigel Llong and Richard Kettleborough from England.
    According to the ICC, it was a consistency in performances from these umpires in officiating matches and experience in the sub-continent has earned them this opportunity. This was stated in a press release made by ICC. It was felt that these umpires were now ready for officiating in the World Cup.
    The selection was made by a committee comprising match referee Ranjan Madugalle, David Llyod who is a former player as well as coach, S Venkataraghavan, who is India’s former captain and a renowned umpire and David Richardson, who is general manager of cricket at the ICC.
    There are currently 12 umpires in the ICC’s Elite Panel of umpires. Enamul Haque Moni will be a reserve umpire for the World Cup.
    ...being a human...



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts