Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Runner Up - Admins Awards
    Join Date
    Dec 2009


    Default Asia Cup 2012 to be held in Bangladesh

    Follow us on Social Media

    The weekend meeting of the Asian Cricket Council Executive committee in Dhaka finally concluded with Bangladesh earning the rights to host the 2012 Asia cup.The Sher-E-Bangla stadium in Mirpur will host all the matches of the tournament.
    Syed Ashraful Huq,the Chief Executive Officer of the ACC said he was delighted on Bangladesh being awarded the rights and that he’s confident that the tournament will go well. He also said that the guidance of Mustafa Kemal who’s presiding over both the ACC and the Bangladesh Cricket Association will help immensely.
    Currently, only Test playing nations – India,Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are a part of the tournament. According to Shahriar Khan, the media manager of the ACC, the body was expecting more competition over the years but for now, it would be only these four nations.
    China was one of the strongest contenders to get the host contract for the Cup because of the recent cricket matches held in the Guangzhou Asian Games. However it lost on the grounds of inadequate cricket infrastructure as its stadium didn’t have floodlights and all the Asia cup matches are scheduled to be day-night matches.
    ...being a human...



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts