Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Runner Up - Admins Awards
    Join Date
    Dec 2009


    Default Asia Cup 2010 Final Match 24TH jUNE

    Follow us on Social Media

    In a repeat of Asia Cup 2008 final, India and Sri Lanka are going to face each other in the final of Asia Cup 2010 on 24 June in Dambulla. Asian cricket fans are eagerly waiting for this match.
    Sri Lanka is full of confident after winning all 3 preliminary round matches including Tuesday’s 7-wicket victory over India. Except the match against Sri Lanka, India won the other two matches.

    India would like to take revenge of their humiliating 100-run defeat at the hands of Sri Lanka in the final of the previous Asia Cup tournament in Pakistan. Sri Lanka, on the other hand, would look to defend the Asia Cup title successfully.

    In the final of Asia Cup 2010, India takes on Sri Lanka on 24 June at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium in Dambulla. While India would be looking to avenge for their 100-run defeat to Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup 2008 final, Sri Lanka would be like to defend the Asia Cup title in front of home fans.

    The match kicks off at 09:00 GMT and 14:30 local time (Sri Lanka time). Cricket fans in India can also watch the match from 14:30. According to Bangladesh time, the match begins at 15:00 and as per Pakistan time, the match starts at

    India started off the tournament with a 6-wicket victory over Bangladesh before defeating Pakistan by 3 wickets. Sri Lanka got off to a winning start with a 16-run victory over Pakistan, followed by a 126-run win over Bangladesh.
    Sri Lanka would be full of confident after winning all the matches so far in the tournament, while India would look to bounce back from Tuesday’s heavy defeat to the Sri Lanka. The players, who were rested for Tuesday’s match, would return for the final match.
    Sri Lankan pacers Nuwan Kulasekara and Lasith Malinga would come back along with spinner Muttiah Muralitharan, while Farveez Maharoof has an edge over Welegedara following his 5-wicket haul against India. Thilan Samaraweera would most probably come back in place of Kandamby.

    Sri Lanka’s batting line up looks pretty strong in the presence of Tharanga, Dilshan, Jayawardene, Sangakkara, Matthews, Samaraweera and Kapugedera. Matthew and Maharoof, the two all rounders, provides extra options for Sri Lanka in both batting and bowling.
    Sri Lanka’s spin attack would feature Muralitharan and it is less likely that the hosts would play more than 1 specialist spinner. They would play with four pacers: Kulasekara, Malinga, Matthews and Maharoof.

    Indian batting line up agonizingly failed to show any resistance against Sri Lankan bowlers, more specially Farveez Maharoof. In the absence of Sehwah, Dinesh Karthik along with Gambhir would have to take the responsibility of bringing a good start for the middle order batsmen. In the middle order, Kohli, Sharma and Raina would have to pull the strings, while all rounder Jadeja is now under pressure to perform with bat.
    Pacer Ashok Dinda would make way for Nehra who has just recovered his injury. In the presence of Zaheer, Praveen and Nehra India has a good pace attack, while their spin department features Harbhajan Singh and Jadeja.

    India XI (Probable)
    MS Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Harbhajan Singh

    Sri Lanka XI (Probable)
    Kumar Sangakkara, Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Farveez Maharoof, Muttiah Muralitharan, Lasith Malinga

    Last edited by Caasanova; 06-24-2010 at 08:35 AM.
    ...being a human...



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts