Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Runner Up - Admins Awards
    Join Date
    Dec 2009


    Default 14-team format for 2015 cricket World Cup

    Follow us on Social Media

    Under fire for its decision to restrict the 2015 World Cup to 10 teams, the ICC on Tuesday decided to reinstate the associate nations by reverting to the 14-team format for the mega event.

    The ICC in April had decided to restrict the 2015 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand to the top 10 nations only, much to the dismay of associate nations like Ireland and the Netherlands, who both strongly protested the decision.

    The decision to put a cap on the teams was because of criticism of the tournament's lengthy format.

    It was not clear till Monday about the number of teams for the 2015 edition, with the ICC Chief Executives' Committee recommending that there should be a qualifying tournament for participation in the elite event.

    But on Tuesday, the third day of the Annual Conference, the ICC Executive Board took the decision that the 50-over flagship event will have 14 teams, according to officials..
    ...being a human...



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts