Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    dR Dazzler
    Join Date
    Jan 2010


    Default EOSS: Evaluating Need for Surgical Management of Obesity

    Follow us on Social Media

    Dr. Arya Sharma, an obesity expert from the University of Alberta, has developed a new classification system to help doctors assess and treat obese patients (published on 16 Aug 2011/ If proven successful, this system would be used in tandem with the BMI measurement to help identify the health differences between people with similar BMIs.

    The doctors will rank people with Class 1, 2 or 3 BMIs where Class 3 is the heaviest, but not necessarily the worst they would also use five new stage rankings.

    According to Dr Sharma "Edmonton Obesity Staging System (EOSS), is a five-stage scale (0-4) that considers BMI, other illnesses and functional status of people who are obese to rank the consequences of excess weight. ".



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts